6 Following


Currently reading

Origin in Death
J.D. Robb
Making Sense of Japanese: What the Textbooks Don't Tell You
Jay Rubin
after the quake: Stories - Haruki Murakami, Jay Rubin After reading Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman, I was a little leery about what I might find in this short story anthology. However, I was pleasantly surprised. There were fewer stories than in Blind Willow but well developed. The main underlying thread is that the stories take place after the Kobe earthquake or the triggers for each story takes place after the earthquake. In his mundane storytelling style, each of the characters face a major change in their lives that takes them out of the status quo they had be living in. I really enjoyed these stories a lot. If you liked Norwegian Wood, Sputnick Sweetheart, South of the Border West of the Sun, you'll like the anthology. Personally, I enjoy both of his styles.